Talk to a Human 773.715.3227
Get an Estimate

Liability Coverage Options

Both state and federal law acknowledge that there is some inherent vice when moving and that even when items are packed and prepared in a professional manner, damage may occur. Your choice of coverage determines how we can compensate you in the event that any of your belongings are lost or damaged during the move. The state of Illinois has established two shared liability options—Carrier Liability and Declared.

Carrier Liability

All licensed moving companies in Illinois provide Carrier Liability coverage at no charge. Under this option, Move-tastic! assumes liability for all items we’re transporting at a set rate of $0.30 per pound per article regardless of the value of the item damaged. If an item is damaged, Move-tastic! must compensate you for up to $0.30 for each pound the damaged item weighs.

Declare Valuation

You declare the total value of your shipment before the move begins. If an item is damaged during your move, Move-tastic! will seek a professional repair. If a repair is not possible, we’ll pay to replace that item, less depreciation. Move-tastic! offers valuation coverage at a rate of $100 per each $10,000 of released or declared value. Declaring a released value for goods is not the same as purchasing an insurance policy.

PLEASE NOTE: In the state of Illinois, the ONLY way to get your items covered for their full replacement value is by purchasing an insurance policy through a licensed insurance broker.


Examples

option 1 option 2
Damaged Items
Carrier Liability

Cost: free

Declared Valuation

Cost: $100 per $10,000 increment

Repairable? Yes

Scratched wood desk
Purchase price: $800
Age: 3 years old
Weight: 100 lbs

$30

Compensation
(Maximum legal liability =
$0.30/lb x 100 lb)

$250

Professional estimate for repair

Repairable? No

Broken lamp
Purchase price: $200
Age: 1 year old
Weight: 5 lbs

$1.50

Compensation
(Maximum legal liability =
$0.30/lb x 5 lb)

$180

Depreciated value replacement
*the cost of shipping & tax is not covered

$31.50

Total compensation

$430

Total compensation


Frequently Asked Questions

Is Declared Valuation “Insurance”?

Declared valuation is not insurance. It is an option under which both parties (the mover and the client) agree to share the liability at a higher amount than the standard carrier liability (30 cents per pound per article) option. These rules are governed by Illinois state law and are non-negotiable. For clients who are interested in full replacement value coverage, it would be necessary to purchase insurance from a separate licensed insurance broker.

How Do I Determine The Value Of My Shipment?

The Illinois Movers’ and Warehousemen’s Association suggests that checking the contents coverage and amounts of your homeowners’ insurance or renter’s insurance can serve as a good guide to determining the value of your shipment.

Why Does The Value Of My Shipment Matter?

The value of your shipment serves as a guideline for the maximum dollar amount you would be compensated by Move-tastic! if the entire contents of your move were to be damaged beyond repair.

How Is Depriciated Value Calculated?

The depreciated value is calculated using industry-wide depreciation guides that provide a formula based on the useful life of an item. EXAMPLE: A table lamp is determined to have a 10-year useful lifespan and therefore depreciates at a rate of 10% per year. A 5-year old lamp would have a depreciated value of 50% of the original purchase price. The depreciated value does not include the cost of shipping or tax.

Claims Fof “Antiques” And “Priceless” Items

In order to qualify as an antique, an item must be at least 100 years old. While some items may hold sentimental value, value will be determined by repair cost, depreciated value from purchase price, or replace with like kind and quality, regardless of the original purchase price.

Refunds

Both state and federal law have clearly outlined the process for handling claims including a legal framework for compensation for claimed items. Per Illinois state law, movers must charge each client according to their rates on file with the state. If a mover deviates from those published rates, the mover may incur fines and penalties for price discrimination. Therefore, if there is an error on your bill, we may process a refund for any overcharges. However, the state acknowledges that there is an inherent risk of items being damaged during a move, even when items are prepared and packed in a professional manner. We make every effort to minimize the inconvenience of filing a claim but unfortunately we are legally prohibited from extending any courtesy customer service refunds.

What is not covered

  • Damage to particleboard or pressed wood furniture
  • Contents of boxes not packed by Move-tastic!
  • Currency, documents, jewelry, precious stones
  • Articles of extraordinary value that are not specifically disclosed and listed on the inventory as having “extraordinary value” in advance of the move
  • Mechanical or electric functions of pianos, radios, TVs, computers, clocks, refrigerators, air conditioners or other instruments or appliances

How Do I Initiate A Claim?

Please contact us via email or phone as soon as you become aware of any damage and Move-tastic! will provide you with a damage claim form. Clients must submit their complete forms and all supporting documentation in writing within 90 days of the move date as required by law or the claim will be denied. Move-tastic! has the right to inspect all claimed damages and related packing materials. Do not dispose of claimed items nor proceed with repairs while the claim is pending. Additionally, according to state law, any and all charges must be paid in full in order to file a claim.

What If I Don't Have The Original Receipt Or Don't Remember The Purchase Price?

In the absence of an original receipt, we first work to determine the value based on the available information of the make and model of the item. If make and model are not available, then fair market value would be established based on available items of similar make and quality.

Who Decides Whether An Item Can Be Repaired?

The determination of whether an item can be repaired is at the discretion of a professional service provider. If professional repair vendors determine that a repair is not possible, then compensation for any damaged items would be based on the depreciated value of the item (under declared valuation) or else $0.30 per pound per article (under carrier liability). According to state law, the mover shall take possession of the damaged goods if it becomes necessary to “cash out” a claim for the actual cash (depreciated) value.

What If I Don't Want A Repair?

Under the terms of declared valuation, the first step that all movers must take is to seek professional repairs for any damaged items. If a professional furniture repair company estimates the cost of a repair to be $150 for a damaged item and a client declines to have the item repaired, the maximum compensation for that damaged item would be equal to the estimated repair cost of $150.

Under Valuation, Who Coordinates A Repair?

It’s always our goal to minimize any further inconvenience by facilitating the repair process as much as possible. We work closely with highly vetted service providers but we’ll also work with clients’ preferred vendors as long as estimates are found to be competitive within the industry. Any estimates require approval by Move-tastic! prior to starting repairs. If an item must be taken off-site for a repair, we may also coordinate the pick up and delivery of the item.

What If I'm Moving Into Self-Storage?

When moving into third-party self storage, a mover is liable for the goods while in transit but that liability terminates at the end of the move, since the mover is no longer in control of the goods or the facility. We always recommend that clients provide or purchase appropriate moving pads (available upon request when booking your move) to minimize the potential for damage that may occur when stacking furniture pieces in the unit. We also recommend that you ensure adequate sizing of the storage unit. To simplify your move, MOVE-TASTIC! does offer affordable storage at our facility. Call for more details!

Claims Handling Timing

We strive to acknowledge receipt of claims within 1 business day of receiving them, though legally, we have 30 days to acknowledge receipt of a claim. Once the claim is officially open, processing times vary based on the amount of time required to research items or coordinate with vendors or retailers. . We'll provide regular updates. Unfortunately, if responses to information requests or settlement offers extended to clients are not received within 30 days, the claim will be closed due to inactivity.


© 2021 Move-Tastic. All rights reserved. Website design by Bright Spot Studio Web development by Pernix Solutions